Ask Away

Asking questions is key when eating out. I know from experience. When I was just starting out as a vegetarian and I still ate fish I ordered a meal of salmon and quinoa at a restaurant in Cape Cod. At this point I wasn’t vegan, I ate dairy and eggs and fish because Cape Cod is all about fish and I figured that  I didn’t want to miss out because I don’t go often. After I had been enjoying my fish for awhile I had a strange feeling about the food, I had been enjoying the quinoa a little too much. I asked the server what was in it but I should have asked before I had eaten half of it because it turns out it had been cooked in chicken broth. I was horrified and actually cried. This was still in the beginning, it might have been my second month of vegetarianism and the first time I had slipped up. I felt like I had really let myself down and I got really worked up. I was determined not to let this be my downfall though and just returned to my usual routine of being a pescetarian. Today there are a lot of traps on menus in places you wouldn’t expect. For example, after this I was really upset but determined not to let it happen again, it hadn’t been a voluntary decision to eat the meat and so I made sure to ask servers from then on. There were several times when I had to switch things I would order for example when vegetable lasagna is cooked with chicken broth. Servers are fine with questions, there are a lot of specific dietary restrictions such as gluten free, lactose and tolerance and other allergies these days so I’ve learned its better to ask.

 

Leave a comment